Chagee (Visit #2)

Given the immense popularity of this brand, I decided I had to try it again in case my first drink selection did not do it justice.

This time I picked a recommendation from a friend, along with having the opportunity to try two other drinks (Jasmine Milk Tea and Rose Pu’er Milk Tea. This should ensure drink selection was well covered.

Store: Chagee
Location: Dali, China
Drink: Da Hong Pao Milk Tea

Placing: Threshold of C+ and B, maybe a low B.

My own drink choice was quite light in flavour. Google says it is associated with an orchid fragrance and a sweet aftertaste but I did not detect this. The Rose Pu’er would be my pick from the lot, having a more noticeable aroma. In general, all three drinks were light on tea aroma and featured the milky flavour more prominently. Fortunately, the milk quality is good (not necessarily the one used in this drink, but in the subway ad, I saw there’s a brand where the milk is guaranteed to be less than 24 hours old).

The tea presence being more subtle in China may be a cultural difference to Australia. It’s a hypothesis I’ll keep tabs on.

Instagram – thatbubbleteablog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started